Special Education

Purpose

To eliminate the achievement gap by providing equal access to high quality comprehensive services that support student achievement, family, and community engagement.  

 

Carson Smith Scholarship

School districts and charter schools are required by Utah law, 53A1a-704(10), to inform parents of students with IEPs enrolled in public schools, of the availability of a scholarship to attend a private school through the Carson Smith Scholarship Program.  Further information is available on the Utah State Office of Education Web site:

 https://www.schools.utah.gov/specialeducation/resources/scholarships. 

 

Child Find Notice

Every child is entitled to a public education regardless of disability. Children with disabilities may go without services because families are not fully aware of their options. If you know of a child enrolled at Summit Academy, who is not receiving any education services or feel that your child may be in need of special education services, please contact your Special Education Coordinator.

 

Utah Parent Center

http://www.utahparentcenter.org

 

Forms
Jacque Schmidt
Director of Special Education
jacque.schmidt@summitacademyschools.org
801-572-9007
 
Gayle Petersen (K-5)
Special Education Coordinator
gayle.petersen@summitacademyschools.org
801-572-4166
 
Teemarie Mohowski (6-8)
Special Education Coordinator
teemarie.mohowski@summitacademyschools.org
801-572-9007
 
Meredith Johnson
Special Education Teacher
meredith.johnson@summitacacdemyschools.org
 
Joel Wegener
Special Education Teacher
joel.wegener@summitacademyschools.org 
 
Sue Swensen
Special Education Teacher
sue.swensen@summitacademyschools.org 
 
Pamela Parkinson
Special Education Secretary
pamela.parkinson@summitacademyschools.org